The Castle of the Vicars is the fortress located at the top of the Borgo di Lari which overlooking the Pisan hills offers visitors a spectacular view. Of Etruscan origin it was object of struggles between Pisa and Lucca and became the seat of the Vicars starting from 1406, when Florence conquered Pisa, elevating Lari to the capital of the Pisan hills.
The Vicars made important structural improvements to the Castle of Lari.
It remained the seat of the Vicars until 1848, the year in which the office was abolished and replaced by the praetor.
The Castle of Lari thus became the Palazzo Pretorio, a function it held until 1962.
Inside the Castle, there is the Dynamic Museum of the Vicariate , through which it is possible to retrace the history of the Castle, the Vicariate and Lari over the centuries.